Two friends, electrical engineers and colleagues, Yannis Maltezos and Achilleas Lampsidis, decided to engage themselves experimentally in viticulture in 1980, by cultivating Yannis’ family estate in Anavyssos, 50 km from Athens and 30 km from Athens airport, Attica, which had been left fallow after the phylloxera disaster of 1956.
In 1981 and following careful study they decided a trial cultivation of international grape varieties, grafting 2.5 hectares with Cabernet Sauvignon and Ugni Blanc. Based on French and German literature, they produced wine in 1982 from their modest first harvest at the Maltezos family press, located next to their home since 1864.
The following year, praise from the Wine Institute of Athens on the quality of their wines as well as the enthusiastic response of their first consumers (mainly friends!) encouraged them to continue their efforts. They named their wines “Strofilia”, labelled with a design by Achilles’ brother, the architect Giorgos Lampsidis. In 1988, they invested their own labor in building their first winery in the Anavyssos vineyard.
In 1993 a third partner was added, the chemical engineer Vasilis Vlachos, who had already taken charge of the oenological department in 1991. The construction of the current Strofilia winery at Patitiria Anavyssos then gradually began.
TOUR AND TASTING
Strofilia winery in Anavyssos is open to the public, where the visitor can tour the winery’s premises and the vineyard and taste wines of the estate in a specially designed tasting room.