Philippos Frangoulis founded the Doxato Flour Mill in the town of Doxato, in the middle of a plain in the prefecture of Drama in 1927. The mill operated continuously while providing electricity to the village until 1941, whereupon the Frangoulis family fled as refugees to the town of Volos while the mill remained closed during the Axis occupation of Greece. Following the end of WWII, the mill went back into operation.
Grinding was made by a stone mill driven by a large diesel-engine which his son Dimitris replaced in 1959 by a pneumatic cylinder mill. In 1993 the cylinder mill passed into the hands of the third generation, Ourania and Philippos Frangoulis, children of Dimitris.
The same love and motivation persisted, as reflected in the progressive development of the mill. Other than being the only mill in the province, it also supports the local production of wheat.
The flour mill is one of the smallest pneumatic flour mills left in Greece today and it allows the visitor to see and better understand the milling process.